Life

Nine hours I spent at work that day. Another two in the pub with colleagues after. It took me twenty minutes to walk home, and a further thirty seconds to find my key and unlock the front door.

But it took just ten seconds for my entire life to change. That’s how long I spent standing in the living room doorway.

As I stood there, frozen, staring down at the floor, I knew the life I had known was over. In those ten seconds, my whole life changed forever.

The doctors tell me my wife’s changed in even less than that.

Author: jackkholt

Film graduate. Lover of lots of good films and quite a few bad ones. Reader. Writer. Novel in progress, obviously.

5 thoughts on “Life”

  1. I like this. The rhythm of the numbers in the first part of the story give this short short a good structure and make it poetic in a way that is pleasing on the ear. It also builds up nicely to the unpleasant ending. Good flash.

Your comment goes here...

