A Little Less Conversation

“Are you here for the sacrifice?”

“Yes.”

“But we’re the only ones here.”

“I know.”

“I thought there would be more.”

“I know.”

“So it’s just me and you?”

“Yes.”

“Will it still work?”

“Definitely.”

“So what happens now?”

“Just take a seat.”

“Is that even a chair?”

“Yes.”

“It’s not very comfortable.”

“So I’ve been told.”

“What are these marks on it?”

“Paint.”

“It’s still wet.”

“Yes, I know.”

“What’s that rope for?”

“In case you struggle.”

“Why would I struggle?”

“Sometimes they do.”

“Who does?”

“The others.”

“What others? Wait. What’s the knife for?”

“Eugh, never mind.”

Author: jackkholt

Film graduate. Lover of lots of good films and quite a few bad ones. Reader. Writer. Novel in progress, obviously.

10 thoughts on “A Little Less Conversation”

  1. This is why I don’t go on Craigslist anymore. Nobody reads the whole ad and they get all upset when the Satanic sacrifices begin. Like they’ve never seen the unblinking eye of the unborn before!

  2. I like this, sets the scene and includes environmental clues even though it’s all speech. Funny too. =)

    Not sure you need the last line, the penultimate works as a decent punchline imo.

  3. @Sonia: As I know she won’t read this, it’s safe to tell you the ‘sacrifice’ was based on my sister!

    @John: Ha! This is actually partly based on what happened to a friend. He advertised for a roommate on Gumtree, then had people turn up to view the room only to be shocked he was a massive football fan, despite stating so in the ad.

    @Xero: Thanks! Reading it again, I think you’re right. It would have been a nice closing line. I’m kicking myself a little to be honest. Live and learn! 😉

    @Adam: Thank you so much. I’m really happy you enjoyed it!

Your comment goes here...

