Fallout

The following story was originally written for Lily Childs’ Friday Prediction. I’m very happy to say that, somehow or another, it won. Yay!

Anyway, here it is:

Fallout

The nameless woman sweeps her way across the floor. Charred echoes of the old world litter her path. Chips, dice, cards: all are trampled or brushed aside. She moves quickly, a silent shadow amongst the ash. The penalty for being caught does not bear thinking about.

Slipping through the pre-war machines, she soon reaches her destination. A faceless figure crouches upon his workstation.

“They can never be allowed to find me.” Her words echo around the steel vault.

“Aye. But ’tis a shame to mangle…such a vision.”

An overburdened coin purse lands at his feet.

“Let’s begin.”

Author: jackkholt

Film graduate. Lover of lots of good films and quite a few bad ones. Reader. Writer. Novel in progress, obviously.

25 thoughts on “Fallout”

  1. Ohh, atmospheric. I always want these 101 thingies to be stories. I’m greedy that way.

    Hope this doesn’t sound patronising but the writing’s developing nicely, I think.

    On a petty note, I notice I’m the first one here. *Victory dance*

    1. I intend to expand. I’m slightly wary of losing any “good will” this short may have earned, but, if I want to grow as a writer, it’s not a challenge I should shy away from.

      Thanks for reading, John!

  2. Really liked this, and glad to hear it’ll be developed further as I’d be interested to see where it goes.

    Only one mistake – “The penalty for being caught does not bare thinking about.” – Should be ‘bear’, not ‘bare’.

Your comment goes here...

