The Game

Hi all. Four drabbles, all interconnected for your reading pleasure. Enjoy, etc!

The Game

Earlier today I spoke with Professor Edmund Runcorn regarding what has already been coined the ‘Pine Woods Incident’. He had this to say:

“At 08:14am this morning a large meteorite struck the north-west town of Netherdale, impacting the town’s surrounding mountainous region in an area known locally as Pine Woods. Local police report that two currently unidentified bodies have been recovered. No such meteor was being tracked and as such we have launched our own full investigation. This surprised us just as much as it did two unfortunate souls. Our thoughts and prayers are with their families at this time.”

* * * *

The wind’s a little stronger than I’d care for. It’s been surprising me all day, dragging this chase out much longer than I’d anticipated. Or charged for.

But it’ll be over soon.

The little bastard is cornered. I know it, and I know he knows it. That would explain why he’s stopped running.

My scope reveals a myriad of greens and browns. It’s autumn here. While bare, the trees are plentiful, offering him a life-lengthening level of protection. Still, I’ve got him now. The first limb to reveal itself will see him quickly ended.

No more messing around. No more surprises.

* * * *

I know he’s watching me. I can sense it. He’s out there and I’m stuck here, alone, unarmed, helpless. I’m in trouble.

I force my back tighter against the tree. An errant branch provides my wearied head the briefest of rest-bites. I close my eyes tight, try to steady my breath.

One, two, three…

It’s not working. I rest my trembling, bloodied hand upon my chest. Up, down. Up…

Four, five, six…

My muscles prime themselves for flight, but I remain grounded. A sound. Something new, different. Soft like a whistle, yet as penetrating as a blade. Not him.

Something else.

* * * *

I’ve been silently directing for days. Invisible, distant.

So occupied were they with each other, the real danger registered not even a frivolous wonder. A change in the wind here, a fallen oak there; their unpredictable game was being played on my orchestrated stage.

But they didn’t notice. No one ever does.

I fancy letting loose my more imaginative side today. It must remain rooted in their “science”, of course – I don’t want to give the game up entirely – but I intend to bend the rules more than a little. I’ll accept the punishment later.

Time to end this.

Author: jackkholt

Film graduate. Lover of lots of good films and quite a few bad ones. Reader. Writer. Novel in progress, obviously.

11 thoughts on “The Game”

Your comment goes here...

