Every Four Hours

The door rattles gently in its frame. I stretch out my fingers and wrap them around the worn hilt of my blade.

As always, I take a deep, painful breath.

The door explodes open and I swing forward. I slay nothing but air. The shadow creature flows out and latches onto the ceiling above me. They’re learning.

I stab upwards into the dark, my blade slicing straight through black and hitting stone. Silent, the creature slowly fades into an icy nothingness.

I slump back into my chair.

As always, I take a deep, painful breath.

I reset my watch, and wait.

Author: jackkholt

Film graduate. Lover of lots of good films and quite a few bad ones. Reader. Writer. Novel in progress, obviously.

5 thoughts on “Every Four Hours”

Your comment goes here...

