Hector

My Millie bounces past the well-dressed man and onto the sitting chair. Mother watches from the arch leading to the food room.

“You know why I’m here?” asks the well-dressed man.

My Millie looks up at me. The well-dressed man turns and stares, then shares a long glance with Mother, who now has water coming out of her eyes again.

“Is Hector here right now?”

Mother leaves the room.

“How many invisible friends have you met before, doctor?” my Millie asks.

“None, Millie,” replies the doctor man.

My Millie smiles and waves me over. “Hector will be pleased.”

Oh, I am.

Author: jackkholt

Film graduate. Lover of lots of good films and quite a few bad ones. Reader. Writer. Novel in progress, obviously.

6 thoughts on “Hector”

Your comment goes here...

